top of page
  • Writer's pictureAja Sun Houlton

seven

it's the way we idolize things only after they're gone,

the way we grieve deeper than we love.


childhood ends slowly,

and then all at once.


i was seven years old when my mother

woke me up at 3 a.m.,

pulled all the blankets and pillows out from the closet,

and dragged me to the front yard to watch the meteor shower.


we laid parallel,

and she pointed to the sky and showed me the constellations,

and i nodded and tried hard to remember each of them.


it was april but the grass was cold and dewy

and i reminisce on the memory

almost as if a dream.


i miss the days my mother was free.


it doesn't feel like

the world we are living in now

is the same one in which

my brother and i would fight over who had to

run across an acre of land

to cut fresh basil from the garden for dinner.


now when i come home,

we bicker about politics and philosophy at bedtime

and convince ourselves that these conversations

are more important than peace.


nothing feels sacred anymore.


sometimes i just want to sit perched

on the kitchen island

while my mother bakes brownies

and wait to lick the batter off the spatula.


sometimes I just want to sit outside

in the sweet, humid air,

cicadas abuzz,

and relish the thick of summer.









bottom of page